Back to All Events

America's Pioneers

  • St Michael's Church Kensington Park Road London W11 2PN (map)
Ticket type:
Buy online

Conductor: Mark Shanahan
Soprano: Angharad Shanahan

Copland Appalachian Spring (Orchestral Suite 1944)
Mozart Alma grande e nobil core
Mozart Al desio chi ch’adora
Dvorak Symphony No 9 (From the New World)

This concert celebrates two symphonies that have taken their inspiration from the wide open spaces and opportunities of the new world. Dvorak’s New World Symphony takes it influences from Native American music and the African-American spirituals he heard whilst living in New York City, and Copland’s Appalachian Spring was adapted from a ballet set amongst 19th century American pioneers after building a new Pennsylvania farmhouse.

Earlier Event: September 28
Don Giovanni